Conservative Leaders Unite To Oppose Unconstitutional Persecution Of Citizen Donald J. Trump

Call the toll-free Capitol Switchboard (1-866-220-0044), tell Senators you oppose the

unconstitutional and unjustified impeachment of former President Donald Trump. Tell them you join the conservative leaders speaking on behalf of the millions of members represented by these organizations when you say this is an unconstitutional bill of attainder, not a legitimate impeachment.

February 5, 2021

Washington, DC

Conservatives are emphatically opposed to the second impeachment of former President Donald Trump.

Such impeachment is absolutely unconstitutional. The Constitution’s impeachment clause is unambiguous and applies only to the President, Vice President and all civil officers of the United States. Nowhere does the Constitution provide for impeachment of non-office holders, or former presidents. Additionally, the Constitution requires the Chief Justice to preside in presidential impeachments. Yet, the Chief Justice will not preside over this impeachment, making the proceedings constitutionally invalid for even an additional reason.

It is evident, however, that this effort is not about complying with the Constitution, but rather an effort to contort the process to meet a partisan political end: to bar Trump from ever seeking public office again, to de-legitimize the accomplishments of his presidency, and to publicly shame the 74 million Americans who voted for him.

While impeachment is a political process, it has throughout our history been used sparingly and soberly as a tool of last resort. Democrats, in utilizing the process not once, but twice – first, to chase later-debunked claims of election interference and now, to punish a non-office holder with baseless claims of incitement – have transformed the impeachment process from somber-minded deliberation into cheap political theater. Our politics will suffer because of it.

We urge Democrats to abandon this pointless impeachment process that will serve only to further their partisan goals, and to further divide an already deeply divided nation. And we ask every Republican senator to vote against conviction – not only because Trump’s actions fail to meet the constitutional standard of “high crimes and misdemeanors,” but to publicly stand against this overtly political stunt masquerading as a principled constitutional practice.

The Honorable Edwin Meese III

Attorney General

President Ronald Reagan (1985-1988)

Alfred S. Regnery

Chairman, Conservative Action Project

President, Republic Book Publishers

The Honorable Jim DeMint

Chairman, Conservative Partnership Institute

Member, US Senate (SC 2005-2013)

The Honorable Matt Schlapp


American Conservative Union (ACU)

Wesley Denton

Chief Operating Officer

Conservative Partnership Institute (CPI)

The Honorable Morton C. Blackwell


The Leadership Institute

Jenny Beth Martin


Tea Party Patriots Citizen Fund

The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell


Constitutional Congress, Inc.

Kelly J. Shackelford, Esq.

Chairman, CNP Action, Inc.

President and CEO, First Liberty Institute

Myron Ebell

Director, Center for Energy and Environment, Competitive Enterprise Institute

The Honorable Colin A. Hanna


Let Freedom Ring, Inc.

The Honorable Tony Perkins


Family Research Council

The Honorable David McIntosh


Club for Growth

Lt. Gen. William G. Boykin (Ret.)

Executive Vice President

Family Research Council

The Honorable George K. Rasley Jr.

Managing Editor

The Honorable Gary L. Bauer


American Values

The Honorable James C. Miller III

Budget Director for President Reagan, 1985-1988)

E.W. Jackson Sr.


Stand Foundation, Inc.

Karen England

Executive Director

Capitol Resource Institute

Saulius "Saul" Anuzis


60 Plus Association

Ron Pearson

Executive Director

Conservative Victory Fund

Amapola Hansberger


Legal Immigrants for America

C. Preston Noell III


Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.

Jon Schweppe

Director of Policy and Government Affairs, American Principles Project

Kielle C. Horton


The Lindsey Foundation

Martha Boneta



Willes K Lee

President, National Federation of Republican Assemblies

Andresen Blom


Hawaiian Values

Nancy Schulze

Founder, President

RCW Speakers

G. Eric Georgatos

Executive Producer

America Can We Talk?

Gerard Kassar

State Chairman